neophyte needs help with Webcam driver

Aug 17, 2007 at 2:32 AM
I'm not a developer, not even a programmer. I just need a driver to hook up my Bodelin Proscope (microscope) to my NEC Mobilepro 900 with USB port. The Proscope is plug and play with XP, but no-workee with Windows CE .net 4.2.

The Webcam code on this site is what I want (I think...). It's source code. How do I compile, How do I get this thing to go?
Aug 23, 2007 at 5:55 PM
Hi queenidog

First of all you would have to check whether your microscope is USB Video Class (UVC) compliant or not. This driver only works with UVC devices.

If it is, you need to install the driver in Windows CE. You find the driver file in WebCam008.zip under Webcam/bin/... compiled for several architectures. Copy webcam.dll to your WinCE-Device (e.g. root directory) and plug in your microscope. A dialog-box should appear asking you for a driver for the connected device. Enter "webcam.dll". If there is no error-message, the driver has been installed.

Second, you need an application using the driver to get images from your microscope. A program is provided with the driver. Unfortunately, it has not yet been posted on this site, but devpi made the sources available (see thread "Search Program Sample" in this forum). You would have to compile these sources...

daniel0
Aug 25, 2007 at 2:38 AM
Dano,

Thanks for this information.
I tried the webcam.dll file but it didn't work. Which one do I use (there are 6) I assumed /x86rel/ but tried some of the others. I tried it in the MY Documents directory where it landed and the Windows directory. When I plug in my device, I get the error "Error installing USB driver webcam".

BTW, my scope is UVC compliant with a device ID of 19ab:1000.

Once I get the driver installed, I may be able to get some help from an IT guy at work who can compile the source code from devpi.
Aug 27, 2007 at 5:17 PM